Advent Reflections … Day 1 … Improving my Spiritual Walk

I was inspired to start writing here again when my friend Angela posted and tagged me in a “30 Days of Reflection” challenge.  I wanted to do something like this anyway leading up to Christmas, so this was perfect timing.  Here is the set of reflection questions, for anyone that would like to join in (Thank you Stone Soup for Five for the questions!)

30-days-of-reflection

The question for today is What is one thing I could do this month to improve my spiritual walk?

The thing that has been on my mind most about my spiritual walk lately is praying for those I really don’t feel like praying for.  Jesus tells us to love our enemies and pray for those who persecute us.  I’ve been feeling a whole host of negative emotions lately (anger, frustration, bewilderment, etc, etc, etc) and I know that the best way to combat those emotions is to pray them away!  So that means praying for people that anger me, frustrate me, make me bewildered, etc.  So to improve my spiritual walk this month, that is what I set out to do.

I use a prayer app called Echo.  You can enter in specific prayers and even set reminders throughout the day.  You can set certain prayers at certain times (which I do sometimes … such as when my friend’s dad was having surgery … I set the prayer for the specific time he was going in).  Or you can set it to random prayers at set times.  Today I’ll be adding in these negativity diffusing prayers!!

God bless!

Leave a Reply

